* *
267 Guests, 0 Users

Show Posts

This section allows you to view all posts made by this member. Note that you can only see posts made in areas you currently have access to.


Topics - John Oscar

Pages: [1] 2 3 ... 205
1
Town Hall / New Job
« on: August 28, 2014, 10:32:33 AM »
As of mid-September, I am now the senior pastor of Whitehall Assembly of God in Whitehall, Wisconsin.

We move up there in the next few weeks.

2
Religion & Theology / Self Defense quote my Martin Luther
« on: December 07, 2013, 09:37:23 PM »
In answering the question of personal self defense, Martin Luther said this-
"Yes, indeed! In that event [if I was attacked by robbers] I should be the authority and wield the sword, because no one else would be near to protect me. I should strike as many dead as I could and thereupon receive the Sacrament and should consider myself to have done a good work."

3
Concealed Carry/Self Defense / What Do You Carry For Self Defense
« on: June 20, 2013, 12:34:28 PM »
Ruger SR9 in a CrossBreed Holster on right hip with one additional magazine (17+1). 

Yes, I have a Wisconsin Concealed Carry Permit.  ;)

I also carry a 3 inch thumb knife.

4
Town Hall / What Phone do you have?
« on: June 19, 2013, 09:46:13 PM »
I went through a few phones recently.  I liked the Motorola Electrify M when it worked, but it broke down on my twice and my provider gave me a Samsung Galaxy 3 to replace it.  I'm still feeling this one out....

What do you carry?

5
Religion & Theology / Are the Seal's in Revelation Judgments?
« on: January 06, 2013, 07:34:04 AM »
I've been reading in Revelation about what has been historically taught as the "Three sets of judgments" God has for the world; the Seals, the Trumpets, and the Bowls.

However, looking at it, besides the 6th Seal (great earthquake), could anything prior to that be considered a true judgment?  Or, is God setting up the conditions for the true judgments to come (Trumpets and Seals).

If not, then the question of what is considered to be the "Tribulation" comes to mind, and then questions of pre/mid/post trib come to mind.  If the Seals are not considered to be part of the judgment/trib, then we could be in the midst of them now and not mess with a pre-Trib person's escatology...

I'm not stating any of this as fact, but more thinking out loud.  What do you think?  (please don't scream heretic at me...it's just some thoughts I had)   :D

6
Town Hall / Active Shooter Video
« on: August 27, 2012, 10:53:42 AM »
It's an unfortunate part of our fallen world that is driving hellbent toward the end of days, but the reality can't be ignored by church leaders.

As shepherds, we must be will to protect the sheep.  This video gives some great tips in dealing with an active shooter event.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=5VcSwejU2D0&feature=player_embedded

7
Town Hall / Concealed Carry
« on: July 09, 2012, 03:20:17 PM »
Wisconsin passed concealed carry last year, and it is now legal to carry a firearm, stungun, or concealed blade if you have a license.

What is your opinion on carrying concealed firearms in church?  What would you think if you knew a pastor was carrying?

8
Religion & Theology / Concealed Carry
« on: April 15, 2012, 09:14:33 AM »
Here in Wisconsin, we've recently passed a law allowing law abiding citizens to carry a concealed firearm, providing they qualify for a license to do so.  A clean police record and evidence of firearms training are required.

For the sake of full disclosure, I have applied and did recieve one of these licenses.  In my case, my proof of training was my DD214 showing prior military service.  However, in doing so, I've gotten some heat from people, who say that Christians shouldn't be carrying firearms as Jesus was a man of peace.

What are your thoughts about Christians carrying firearms?  How about in church?

9
Secular News / Pakistani Politician Condemns War in Afghanistan
« on: January 27, 2011, 04:34:42 PM »

10
Secular News / Hunting Season Opens for Dems on Vulnerable Republicans
« on: January 03, 2011, 08:11:03 PM »
After November's thrashing, surviving Democrats are eager brush themselves off before the 2012 election, casting their Republican counterparts as special-interest-driven sell-outs, while the GOP has two years to prove itself to voters.Thousands of New Laws Go Into Effect
GOP to Push for Health Law Repeal
YOU DECIDE: How Much to Repeal?
Issa Wants to Put Obama in Hot Seat
OPINION: New Year's Resolutions for GOP


More...

11
Secular News / Graham Wants Permanent Bases in Afghanistan
« on: January 03, 2011, 01:57:32 AM »

12
Secular News / Gunmen Target Christian Homes in Iraq, 2 Killed
« on: December 31, 2010, 05:43:43 AM »

13
Secular News / Napolitano in Afghanistan to Discuss Security, Meet Troops
« on: December 31, 2010, 05:43:43 AM »
Department of Homeland Security Secretary Janet Napolitano kicks off a weeklong trip abroad with a stop in Kabul. The secretary will meet with top officials to discuss security and spend New Year's Eve with American troops.Grenade Attack Kills Afghan Child, Wounds 6
Pakistan to Defend Spy Chief From U.S. Suits


More...

14
Secular News / U.S. Revises Guidelines For Afghan Night Raids
« on: December 17, 2010, 02:35:10 AM »
Military command in Afghanistan revises secret rules for night raids, placing safeguards on kill-or-capture missions that the WH says are effective against the TalibanObama: Afghan Mission Will Still 'Take Time'


More...

15
Secular News / Hollywood to Obama: We Take Back Our Vote
« on: December 17, 2010, 02:35:10 AM »
Singers and actors are increasingly saying they're unhappy with Obama, with some revealing they would take back their vote because he's 'unqualified'Fox News Poll: 29 Percent Say Obama Will Win Re-election
OPINION: Good News, Obama Has Been Reined In


More...

Pages: [1] 2 3 ... 205

ads

Recent

Shoutbox

Last 5 Shouts:

 

me again

October 09, 2014, 02:15:06 PM
Quote
Religious Lie: "God only paid for sins until the next time you sin."
Forgiveness is available until we get to eternity and then our eternal fate is sealed. Right now, people are free to sin and repent; but there is no forgiveness of sin for the damned in hell.
 

Stan

October 05, 2014, 10:24:53 AM
"If it is hard for the righteous to be saved, what will become of the ungodly and the sinner?"
 

Stan

May 03, 2014, 01:12:35 PM
Lots of visitors..  easy to join,  easy to post...  come make some friends..  Play nice with others.
 

The Crusader

February 26, 2014, 04:30:18 PM
Religious Lie: "God only paid for sins until the next time you sin."
 

The Crusader

December 23, 2013, 09:38:53 AM
JUST A THINK ABOUT IT: Will you embrace the full meaning of Christmas? Jesus didn't die just so you could go to heaven. He came to give you life - His life; an abundant life free from guilt, condemnation, and slavery to both sins and religion. He came to bring a grace revolution to the world and tha

Show 50 latest

Our Amazon Store

Unique visitors since Dec 1, 2012

Flag Counter