* *
316 Guests, 1 User

Show Posts

This section allows you to view all posts made by this member. Note that you can only see posts made in areas you currently have access to.


Messages - Zaph

Pages: [1] 2 3 ... 24
1
Town Hall / Re: What do you use this site for now, Stan?
« on: June 16, 2017, 09:55:32 PM »
I log in once every few months. I think it's been close to a year this time and now the last post was almost 6 months ago. Wow! and wow I can't believe it's been 14 years since I first registered here.

I'll be honest... I stopped coming here regularly because strong personalities were allowed to just plow over others and when people disagreed it was less than Christ like in how people responded. I realize that some were disciplined but the over all feel never really changed but that was mainly because they were the only ones posting.

2
Christian Music / Nearer My God to Thee
« on: October 11, 2015, 11:15:45 AM »
The older I get it seems that music moves me more. This is a wonderful rendition of the hymn "Nearer My God to Thee". Without a word spoken you seem to be drawn nearer to God. It appears in the video that others felt the same even if they didn't know what was going on.

https://www.youtube.com/embed/v1mQT1u_45I

Can you even start to imagine what it'll be like one day very soon when we can participate in a scene like this in person before our wonderful and merciful God?

3
Science / Re: Pakistani water-kit: Fuel your vehicle on water
« on: June 28, 2015, 05:58:29 PM »
I'm not a scientist but this seems like a bunch of nonsense. They talk about HHO gas. What is that? H2O. Which we all know is water and what is water in the form of gas? It's called steam!  I seriously doubt that too many gas engines would run very long on steam.

With all the tree huggers out there if this were true it would be trumpeted from all the mountain tops around the world. Not even the oil companies could pay enough to keep their mouths shut.

4
Religion & Theology / Re: Prayer and FASTING?
« on: November 25, 2014, 05:15:37 PM »
I've come across a great deal of resistance to fasting for various reasons:

Even without health problems many will object because they can't imagine denying themselves something even for a couple of days. This reminds me of something although it's a bit off topic (but related) but this verse came to mind as I read your post.

Pro_23:21  For the drunkard and the glutton shall come to poverty: and drowsiness shall clothe a man with rags.

A few years ago this verse struck me in a new light. The Bible makes no distinction between the over-eater and the drunkard. It was a new thought to me that I'm just as bad as the drunkard when I can't control my appetite when I sit down to eat. I now believe this is the case because when we have the Holy Spirit dwelling in us we also have self-control (temperance). So over eating is just a symptom of ?????

Gal 5:22  But the fruit of the Spirit is love, joy, peace, longsuffering, gentleness, goodness, faith,
Gal 5:23 Meekness, temperance: against such there is no law.

Sorry... didn't mean to side track you topic so much. Back to fasting we go.

5
College & Bible Studies / Re: Leading a Bible Study
« on: November 23, 2014, 03:47:35 PM »
Here are interesting impromptu conclusions:
1. Jesus and Peter didn't pray "Lord, if it be your will..."
2. Jesus and Peter spoke to the deceased and commanded them to rise from the dead.

There are some other interesting correlations regarding touch i.e. the laying on of Jesus' hands and Peter's hands. It's also interesting to note that Peter didn't just walk on water, but he also raised Tabitha from the dead. Many people miss that (to include myself).

I know that the health & wealth gospel preachers say it's a lack of faith to pray "if it be your will..." However, they also assume that anything and everything they desire is the Lord's will. I call that presumption. I believe that in these cases that you mentioned Christ and Peter had such a close relationship with the Father that they knew without a doubt the Lord's will. I say this because praying "if it be your will..." is actually Biblical.

Jas 4:14  Whereas ye know not what shall be on the morrow. For what is your life? It is even a vapour, that appeareth for a little time, and then vanisheth away.
Jas 4:15  For that ye ought to say, If the Lord will, we shall live, and do this, or that.

6
Religion & Theology / Re: Prayer and FASTING?
« on: November 22, 2014, 09:04:38 PM »
When I saw this topic I thought of this news story I saw a while back. I thought you might find it interesting.

http://www.telegraph.co.uk/news/uknews/10878625/Fasting-for-three-days-can-regenerate-entire-immune-system-study-finds.html

7
Religion & Theology / Re: Prayer and FASTING?
« on: November 21, 2014, 06:39:08 PM »
I have done a weeks worth of nothing but vegetable juice. Never felt better actually. However, I'll be honest and say that I didn't do it with the purpose of Biblical fasting in mind. It was out of a motive to see what happens.

I don't believe that fasting is some kind of rite that magically draws us closer to God. Depriving your body of food for a while actually has the affect of clearing our mind. I believe the physical bodily results from fast allow our minds to hear the voice of God more clearly. When you eat the body diverts blood to your stomach to aid in the digest process. So if there is no food to be digested more blood flows freely to brain. Some make take me to task over this and that is ok.

I think fasting is a really good practice. Especially the idea of one day a week. However, the question is WHY are you fasting?

Mat 6:16  Moreover when ye fast, be not, as the hypocrites, of a sad countenance: for they disfigure their faces, that they may appear unto men to fast. Verily I say unto you, They have their reward.
Mat 6:17  But thou, when thou fastest, anoint thine head, and wash thy face;
Mat 6:18 That thou appear not unto men to fast, but unto thy Father which is in secret: and thy Father, which seeth in secret, shall reward thee openly.

8
Town Hall / Front Lines of the Ebola War
« on: October 21, 2014, 09:45:14 PM »
The following is an eye opening account of 2 drs who have been in Liberia fighting Ebola. Worth every minute of the 1.5 hour presentation.

Drs. James Appel and Gillian Seton report on their recent experience supporting in the Ebola-stricken country of Liberia.

9
Post Complaints & Recommendations Here / Re: Inaccessable forums
« on: October 20, 2014, 06:44:02 PM »
There is a still a problem. Sometimes they work sometimes they don't. Just in the last 5 minutes I've discovered that sometimes (about 20%) the links will work normally for a few minutes and then stop again. I couldn't click on the topic for this thread. I to click on it from the list of recent posts under Stan's name to access this.

10
The devil uses semantics to divide and conquer -- even today. However, the Lord knows who His people are, regardless of their earthly denominational title.

Semantics..yes.. it's an interesting way of doing things. Borrow terminology but have different definitions. The Roman Catholic Church and it's various leaders and popes are always very careful with how they word things. Even when they apologize for past atrocities. I wonder if one were to ask directly if the Catholic Church was sorry for the burning of Huss, Jerome, and John Knox and folks like them what would they say? Especially since they believed they were purifying the Church of heretics.

So I ask the following. If you're a Protestant do you know why you are?

11
Religion & Theology / Re: Joseph Prince: Hero or Heretic?
« on: July 27, 2014, 12:07:33 PM »
Thank goodness we do not have to have a 100% accurate understanding of all Christian theologies to enter the Kingdom of Heaven. At the most basic level, we just need Jesus and His blood. Whew! I'm safe! I'm in!  :o

It is good to confidence in Jesus and our relationship with him and please don't think I'm aiming my comments at you because I know that I can't judge the heart. But we also know that many who will say the same exact thing that you do will not be in Heaven. How do I know??

Mat 7:21 Not every one that saith unto me, Lord, Lord, shall enter into the kingdom of heaven; but he that doeth the will of my Father which is in heaven.
Mat 7:22 Many will say to me in that day, Lord, Lord, have we not prophesied in thy name? and in thy name have cast out devils? and in thy name done many wonderful works?
Mat 7:23 And then will I profess unto them, I never knew you: depart from me, ye that work iniquity.

They thought they believed and were seemingly doing the fruit of true belief.. ie.. prophesying, casting out demons, and any thing else that falls under "many wonderful works." But yet Christ said that they were workers of iniquity. Deception wouldn't be deception if it was easy to discern. It appears that they who fall into this category have the same belief as the devil and his ilk.

Jas 2:19  Thou believest that there is one God; thou doest well: the devils also believe, and tremble.

12
This new Pope is fast gaining popularity even among the non Catholics. It's time that some go to the library and dig up those old history books and read for themselves what happened and why. People need to understand what it means to be a Protestant. The Roman Catholic Church has not changed it's beliefs or teachings and this new Pope makes it very clear.

“There are those who believe you can have a personal, direct, immediate relationship with Jesus Christ outside of the communion and the mediation of the Church,” he continued. “These are dangerous and harmful temptations.” 

http://www.catholicculture.org/news/headlines/index.cfm?storyid=21814

Recently the Pope sent a messenger to one of the leaders of the pentecostal movement declaring that Martin Luther's protest is over and more or less invited the leaders to come back home. We live in interesting times.

13
Religion & Theology / Re: To Hell and Back
« on: June 09, 2014, 07:04:16 PM »
I'm not sure how you got that out of my response.

14
Religion & Theology / Re: To Hell and Back
« on: June 01, 2014, 04:47:42 PM »
Unless the Lord resurrected you like He did Lazarus you didn't really die. If the doctors are able to bring you back you were not truly dead.

There is life after death but your experience doesn't prove or disprove it. There is life after death simply because the Bible tells us so. Even Peter acknowledges this fact. After referencing the transfiguration of Christ that he experienced with James and John he goes on to say this...

2Pe 1:19  We have also a more sure word of prophecy; whereunto ye do well that ye take heed, as unto a light that shineth in a dark place, until the day dawn, and the day star arise in your hearts:

What is better than experience or a miracle? God's Word!

15
Religion & Theology / Re: To Hell and Back
« on: May 20, 2014, 06:07:18 PM »
I know that I'm going to get hammered for this but here it goes anyway.

If they can resuscitate you then you haven't truly died. Only God can give back the life force so unless you believe that God is raising these people back from the dead like He did Lazarus then then these people haven't truly died. There is a reason why they are called "near death". So no they haven't been to the "other side"

Just because someone has an experience on the operating table doesn't mean it's true. There are all sorts of chemical processes going on. The body is doing strange things because it wasn't designed to have all the medications pumped into it. People have all kinds of "visions" and dreams and experiences while on drugs.

I haven't gone to do any digging on this but I'm  willing to make an educated guess that there are other people not on the operating table or close to death have very similar experiences of going to a "light" or experience a "hell" in a dream.

Please don't get me wrong. I do not in anyway doubt their experience. I truly believe that they experienced something good or bad. I just don't accept their experience as basis for truths.

Pages: [1] 2 3 ... 24

ads

Recent

Shoutbox

Last 5 Shouts:

 

me again

October 09, 2014, 02:15:06 PM
Quote
Religious Lie: "God only paid for sins until the next time you sin."
Forgiveness is available until we get to eternity and then our eternal fate is sealed. Right now, people are free to sin and repent; but there is no forgiveness of sin for the damned in hell.
 

Stan

October 05, 2014, 10:24:53 AM
"If it is hard for the righteous to be saved, what will become of the ungodly and the sinner?"
 

Stan

May 03, 2014, 01:12:35 PM
Lots of visitors..  easy to join,  easy to post...  come make some friends..  Play nice with others.
 

The Crusader

February 26, 2014, 04:30:18 PM
Religious Lie: "God only paid for sins until the next time you sin."
 

The Crusader

December 23, 2013, 09:38:53 AM
JUST A THINK ABOUT IT: Will you embrace the full meaning of Christmas? Jesus didn't die just so you could go to heaven. He came to give you life - His life; an abundant life free from guilt, condemnation, and slavery to both sins and religion. He came to bring a grace revolution to the world and tha

Show 50 latest

Our Amazon Store

Unique visitors since Dec 1, 2012

Flag Counter